Birthday Celebrations

Michelin star food vs. good food

Urban flowers

On my actual birthday, I had the lovely treat of eating in the Tower Restaurant, whilst staying in the Tower Hotel, Lincoln. I’ve already reported the meal was amazing, one of the best I’ve had.

So when it comes to going to Purnells, with all its Michelin star glory, for my official birthday celebration, expectations are high. I’d already been there for my birthday last year and even when I booked it 8 weeks in advance, I had second thoughts as I that it could never eclipse the first experience.

It didn’t. In fact it didn’t match it. There’s nothing wrong with the food or the service this year but somehow it isn’t quite there. There are mutterings of certain foods being not quite perfect around the table, the service seems a touch arrogant compared to last year, I’m not sure if the fact that we were in the private room last year made a difference as we were treated like royalty then. Worst of all though, they didn’t explain that there was a set price for 3 courses so those of us who knew we couldn’t manage 3, opted for 2 but paid the same. I thought that was very presumptuous of them, given the ample opportunities to explain this to us during the ordering process. Why would anyone in their right mind only have 2 courses when they are paying for three – at Michelin star prices?

It’s a lovely meal, with even better company but both The Tower and Edmunds three weeks later easily eclipse Purnells.

Guinness cake, coffee made with love & flowers; the Urban birthday experience

Conversely, the next day is my Birthday Tea (coffee) in my regular Urban Coffee Co although last year was in the original Church Street, this year the newer Jewellery Quarter branch won out.

Urban, could not do enough; I walk in to see my ‘table’ laden with little pots of flowers, my favourite Guinness ‘birthday’ cake is on offer (not an Urban staple so bought in especially)  and there are already welcoming friends there. Quite an overwhelming but delightful afternoon.

The most thoughtful, handmade present

Enjoying good cake, coffee & company


2 thoughts on “Birthday Celebrations

  1. I’d always choose good food over Michelin food. Give me the Lord Clifden over Purnells etc. any day of the week and twice on Sundays. Matter of preference I guess. Whenever I see a Michelin-type meal, my first thought is “..and where’s the rest of it?”, I know you can’t judge a meal by portion size alone but I like to get something filling!
    Your birthday tea at Urban was a lovely afternoon, just friendly chat with nice people in welcoming surroundings, of course with delicious drinks and cake!

    • Yes, it’s not the Michelin that makes food good, but it means they have to have the highest standards, most importantly the highest customer service standards. No Michelin star restaurant has ever been my favourite; in Birmingham, faves are Opus, Loves & Edmunds and I although I always come back full from all of them, can’t even fit in 3 courses!
      Anyway, trip to Loves due again before Christmas I think!

Leave a Reply

