Music Monday: Y is for Neil Young

Yes I know I have missed X; I can think of a few bands (The XX, X-ray Spex, XTC) but none that I like enough to warrant Music Monday status. In any case, I’m in a Neil Young frame of mind:

1. Rockin’ in the Free World – this is the track that alerted me to Neil Young, via a local band that used to cover it.

2. Harvest Moon – what’s not to like?

3. Only Love Can Break Your Heart – oh gosh

4. Heart of Gold – ditto

5. After the Goldrush – just gorgeous

Bonus track. Like a Hurricane

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: Y is for Neil Young

  1. So tough to choose 5 (or 6!) for Neil Young.

    #1 for me, though, is always “Goin Back” from the Comes A Time album.

    and then…
    #2 Cortez The Killer (Zuma)
    #3 Tonight’s The Night (TNN)
    #4 Borrowed Tune (TNN)
    #5 Powderfinger (Rust Never Sleeps)

    and a bonus…
    Out Of My Mind (Buffalo Springfield) – Does that count?

  2. Good choice for Y, Rickie.

    My #1 is “Goin’ Back” from the Comes A Time album. I love the lyrics – they always remind me of the sleepy mood I was in when I first heard it.
    The rest:
    #2 Cortez The Killer (a sprawling epic from Zuma)
    #3 See The Sky About To Rain (from On The Beach. Gene Clark did a fab cover of this)
    #4 Borrowed Tune (lonely, wasted, defiant)
    #5 Powderfinger (from Rust Never Sleeps. First time I heard this was actually the Cowboy Junkies cover version)

    can I have a bonus too?
    Barstool Blues, from Zuma

Leave a Reply

