Adventures in Birmingham – Cherry Ghost

Cherry Ghost Shoreline

Cherry Ghost : Beneath this Burning Shoreline

Cherry Ghost, live review

Seeing Cherry Ghost is like going on holiday; as soon as the gig is over, I want to book the next one.
That’s what happened when I saw the band of the moment (since 2007) this summer supporting The Coral. It wasn’t enough watching them do a short set but I knew they’d be doing their own tour to support the new album. I am still in love with the release from 2007, ‘Thirst for Romance’ so haven’t got used to this year’s release yet.
The gig was a mix of the two with the old ones going down extremely well. I met a few people seeing the band for the first time but there wasn’t much comment exchanging going on as I stood mesmerised by the soft melodic tunes.
A guy at the bar mentioned that he didn’t know what the band looked like which is true as they don’t use many photos and I said the exact same thing when I saw them last time. Talking of the bar, I got my water free; it seems the O2 don’t charge for it which is hugely refreshing (excuse the pun).
Later we realise the young lady in front of us was a reviewer, for the Times it turns out, picking the long straw to come and see them in Birmingham. We, as hospitable Brummies (and one adopted Brummie) invited her for a drink afterwards at the Victoria, another first for me.
After which, I go home to nurse my oncoming cold but nothing would have prevented me from making the dash back from London to see this gig tonight.
When’s the next one?
Cherry Ghost

 

Leave a Reply

